Gaining weight & staying healthy in Japan

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been telling myself to go to the gym for years but never did (because I’m generally lazy) until the beginning of last month where I decided, change is needed. The problem is my metabolism is extremely high so anything I consume I will burn off real quick. I’m guessing my daily calories are around 1500-2000 a day.

so to actually gain muscle and weight, I have to double the amount of calories I eat daily, otherwise all that exercise is just not doing much. Which now means anything around 4000 is fine and my 3 meal a day becomes 6 meals a day. I also need a lot of protein so I cut out all the unnecessary carbs and replace that with even more protein.

Eating chicken everyday becomes very boring but to make it less excruciating I mix up a lot of seasonings.

One thing I realized also was that my entire life of consuming stuff like crisps, rice, spaghetti that were made up of carbs were the reason why I would also feel full after a meal. After eating with my new meal plan I started to get hungry real fast (within an hour or 2) even though those meals were pretty big.

Now to counter that I had to be careful with what kind of carbs I would eat. Below is the kind of breakfast I eat.
20150214_130406

But during weekdays when I have to rush to work, chewing in the morning becomes too much effort. So I blend it instead and drink it in 2 cups.
20150228_210142

Lets see how this goes for the rest of this year

Leave a Reply

